URL: http://www.dix-digital.com [mirror]
Known aliases: http://www.dixdigital.com / http://www.dixidigital.net
Do you recognize them already? Here is a hint: Anepax, Centice. Entac, etc.
We found this one through a Google Ad on a large photography related forum.
The design is used in other scamsites as well (just haven’t saved the layouts back then). So either the old-guys are back, or someone bought the scammers website template online somewhere.
Even the camera’s on the website are ripped from another website [mirror], and have been seen before. If you know the original website where these camera images come from, please drop it in the comments.
There’s also a discussion on the talkphotography.co.uk forum regarding these scammers.
Note that the original design has been taken from Futureshop.ca. This webshop / online retailer is 100% legit!!!!
Whois
Looks like they launched just a few days ago.
Domain Name: DIX-DIGITAL.COMRegistrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDEWhois Server: whois.melbourneit.comReferral URL: http://www.melbourneit.comName Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COMName Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COMStatus: clientTransferProhibitedUpdated Date: 22-dec-2009Creation Date: 22-dec-2009Expiration Date: 22-dec-2010
> ping www.dix-digital.com -> 68.180.151.76
Website is hosted by Yahoo
> whois 68.180.151.76
OrgName: Yahoo! Inc.
OrgID: YHOO
Address: 701 First Ave
City: Sunnyvale
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 94089
Country: USNetRange: 68.180.128.0 – 68.180.255.255
CIDR: 68.180.128.0/17
NetName: A-YAHOO-US6
NetHandle: NET-68-180-128-0-1
Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.YAHOO.COM
NameServer: NS2.YAHOO.COM
NameServer: NS3.YAHOO.COM
NameServer: NS4.YAHOO.COM
NameServer: NS5.YAHOO.COMComment:
RegDate: 2006-09-22
Updated: 2007-05-02RTechHandle: NA258-ARIN
RTechName: Netblock Admin
RTechPhone: +1-408-349-3300
RTechEmail: rauschen @ yahoo-inc.comRAbuseHandle: NETWO857-ARIN
RAbuseName: Network Abuse
RAbusePhone: +1-408-349-3300
RAbuseEmail: network-abuse @ cc.yahoo-inc.comOrgAbuseHandle: NETWO857-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Network Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-408-349-3300
OrgAbuseEmail: network-abuse @ cc.yahoo-inc.comOrgTechHandle: NA258-ARIN
OrgTechName: Netblock Admin
OrgTechPhone: +1-408-349-3300
OrgTechEmail: rauschen @ yahoo-inc.com
Domain Name: DIXDIGITAL.COMRegistrar: ENOM, INC.Whois Server: whois.enom.comReferral URL: http://www.enom.comName Server: NS1.DIXDIGITAL.COMName Server: NS2.DIXDIGITAL.COMStatus: clientTransferProhibitedUpdated Date: 08-dec-2009Creation Date: 21-aug-2009Expiration Date: 21-aug-2010
Dix-digital.com and Dixidigtal.net are hosted on the same (yahoo) server, while dixdigital.com is hosted on a different server (in Sweden) (thanks to one of the commenters for pointing this out). We wonder if they’re using the same backend……
The address is one of the stores mentioned on the stores page [mirror]. The name in the registration is also fake (see: Nick Naylor).
Registrant Contact:
DIX LIMITED
Joseph Roth ()
Fax:
27 WRIGHTS LANE
London, London W8 5SW
GBAdministrative Contact:
DIX LIMITED
Joseph Roth (joseph_roth@consultant.com)
+44.2086599456
Fax: +1.5555555555
27 WRIGHTS LANE
London, London W8 5SW
GBTechnical Contact:
DIX LIMITED
Joseph Roth (joseph_roth@consultant.com)
+44.2086599456
Fax: +1.5555555555
27 WRIGHTS LANE
London, London W8 5SW
GBStatus: Locked
Name Servers:
ns1.dixdigital.comns2.dixdigital.com
Creation date: 21 Aug 2009 15:51:47
Expiration date: 21 Aug 2010 15:51:47
Prices
As we’re used to it, the pricing on the goods is extremely low. A Nikon D700 goes for €1315,00 [mirror]. A normal price would be at least €500 higher (just check B+H, Adorama, etc.). Please do mind the Euro versus USD currency rate (and taxes).
Just check any photogear pricing, and compare that to any other (legit) webshop. We guarantee that the prices listed here are always much lower.
They also have a nice assortment of Apple equipment at very ‘reasonable’ prices…..
Payment
Payment can only be done in wire transfers (or a credit card if you’re from the UK). The only way to really lose your money.
This is weird, since it’s the ‘biggest’ outlet around (just check the stores page [mirror]). You would think that they would accept credit cards from all over the place…….
Other stuff
Like every other big scammers site, they have invested in an SSL certificate.
This time from Starfield. The certificate itself only provides encryption. There’s no real link to an actual company, since it’s one of those cheap SSL certificates. They only verified that the holder of the domain (postmaster or webmaster@dixdigital.com) could be reached. Nothing more. No credibility checks, no company verification. Nothing.


Posted by Hunter
Posted by Hunter
Posted by Hunter 





